Ok so I decided to check what’s been going on Twitter and I was pleasantly surprised to find that the APHA twitter feed has been updated!  That’s what I’m talkin about!

In case you were wondering what the “twit” was, they just recently put up a website for National Public Health Week going on next year. Can’t wait!

For those who aren’t up to speed on what Twitter is – it’s basically a platform that allows you to do micro-blogging, letting people know what you are up to or what you are thinking at any given moment. Now I must admit, in the beginning I was skeptical about the usefulness but after diving in and meeting people/exchanging ideas, it became another tool to put in my box. Need a question answered? Send it out on Twitter and see how many people write you back with ideas. It was especially interesting to see how it was useful in the recent California fires.

Kudos once again to the American Public Health Association for breaking into the niche social media trend!

